Union Cabinet’s Mega Reshuffle & Expansion : A Big Move BY Modi Govt

Nine new Ministers – Shiv Pratap Shukla, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Virendra Kumar , Anantkumar Hegde, Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Satya Pal Singh and Alphons Kannanthanam were inducted into union Cabinet and took the oath as Cabinet Ministers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Four junior ministers were promoted to the cabinet ministry:

 Piyush Goyal replaced Suresh Prabhu and takes charge of railway Ministry with additional charge of Ministry of Coal,While Prabhu has been shifted to Commerce & Industry Ministry .

Nirmala Sitharaman becomes the first Indian Women to hold the defence portfolio as a full time Minister .Before this ,PM Indira Gandhi held the portfolio twice but she was not a full time Defence Minister.

Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan was also given additional charge of Skill Development Ministry. 

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi appointed as Minority Affairs Minister.

Cabinet Reshuffle shows PM Narendra Modi’s focus on BJP’s intention to expand its footprint in south & eastern India with an eye to the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Enter your email address:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      IndiaClicking - Buzzing News & Stocks